When The Going Gets Tough


I was searching for some words to fix the title at first. The reason behind is, I have already fixed up few random things to write. I wondered today that it has been almost two months since I posted my last post. And if I don’t write another post within tomorrow, for the first time in last two years there will be a month without an entry in my blog ! I don’t want to let it happen.. LOL

The simplest thing clearly depicts what life I am living. Living in the capital city of Bangladesh, the Dhaka is never less than fighting in a field of war. Weirdly said right? Yeah, I told it as I do feel. What do you feel if you start from your home 1.5 hours before your office time at 8 am in the morning, and you can’t reach in time rather being late half an hour. And more importantly, during holidays you can never make this time more than half an hour anyway to cross the length! And during office days, I stand there on the bus stand for and hour and can’t manage a public transport to board on. The sun is up there, you are moving for each buses coming on the ways closing doors or some are filled up even not sparing an inches on the doors! This is the city life in here!

So being late consecutive a week I changed my starting time to 7 am and now I reach office 2 hours before! I often wonder how come we are living! The Dhaka city is one of the worst city on earth I feel. Just a week back I lost my mobile in the bus. It was in my pocket and someone picked is out from the stupid crowd while I lost concentration from my mobile only for 20 seconds! Thieves are available anywhere anytime. Bus fares are on hike without no specific reason. Whenever the oil or gas price is up, we get a hike in fares whatever is the fuel of that bus is. You really don’t need to run in gases or oils — you just need the occasion!! I don’t wanna mention the daily market!

Even yesterday, on the street of Malibag, which is 10 minutes walking distance from my place a man is dead as a pick-up van just crushed him under it’s tires. The man was trying to cross the road. There is no control on the transportation system, no control on the driving, no control on the passers-by. This is a weird city with strange things everywhere. Everyday I return back to home and when I could see the faces of my Amma (mother) and Abba (father), I say thanks to Allah for his blessings — I’m living another day in here, on this earth!

Moreover, I am screwed completely in these days in job! The days are too tough in the office. I think this is not the thing where I can bring the best out from myself. Though the reality is prompting me to be the glue to such works. No way out to live! **sigh** But I don’t wanna loose my heart anymore. I am hopeful for some good days in life. I believe, ”With difficulties, comes ease”. I believe there will be good days when I will scream in pleasure! ๐Ÿ™‚

With all those complexities in life, when I come back home, I don’t find any energy to write a post. I feel an itchy feeling when I think of writing. But surprisingly I found I am not the only person who stopped posting, Michelle is also dormant! Her blog is not updated for long time… No posts from Lopa and Mushfiq too! May be the summer is not going good for anybody! ๐Ÿ™‚

Wish good days for everybody. Life is short, but it should be a livable one until we move for the eternal life. May Allah, The Almighty bless our lives.

Photo Courtesy: Flickr link

.

Author: mahmud faisal

Yet another ephemeral human being...

14 thoughts on “When The Going Gets Tough”

  1. OMG! I too was thinking of posting something by tomorrow, otherwise I’d break my cycle of posting 4 on an average per month!

    Everything about Dhaka City is rightly pictured through words. It’s getting worse than worst everyday. I spent about 1+1.5 hours in the traffic to go to office and to come back. And with this horrible unpredictable weather, there’s no energy left in the body to do something.

    BTW, I’ve done one good thing lately. I’ve given one month’s notice and resigned from my current job! Well, not willingly, though! ๐Ÿ˜› I got another job at ICDDR,B with a post which perfectly suits my academic background! Hope to enjoy my new job! It REALLY feels powerful to quit a job… to say NO to the things that we are not comfortable with. And I believe, good things happen at the end of the day! ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I’ve been working on many slums lately. Trust me, it also has a different picture than what we think of Dhaka in general. Completely different life out there. Did you know, 60% of the people of Dhaka city live in slums? ๐Ÿ˜•

  2. That’s the life in Dhaka city-a total struggle.Yet,we wanna live here rather than the other portion of the country, enduring all the bad things.:)

  3. Dhaka and rest of Bangladesh has a long way to go. But someday it will reach there hopefully. summer is good for me! enjoying vacation.

  4. I guess all countireis have some problem or the other, the problem is that people who lead dont do much to rectiy it. As is the case on my country India.
    Hopefully with the new generation gearing up and taking charge things might change ..

Leave a Reply

