Late Goodbye


Don’t know how to express the feelings… but thing is, I am shocked. A shock that is not based one something very serious… not based on something seriously related to my life… though it is a shock– the shock of supporting in FIFA world cup 2010…

When I learned to watch football, it was 1994 World cup in USA. I loved to support Brazil that year following my elder brother. I was too young to choose any team to support in that age. But while I supported a random team and became champion, it captured my emotions and since then, I started to support this south American team– Brazil. “Ordem e progresso” which is Order and Progress.

The classic game of was destroyed last night by Dutch team. and Brazil is out…. Thing is, my attraction to this world cup is gone. I am dumb from last night. Trying to be normal. I had been waiting for this World Cup eagerly for last few months. And my team is no more ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyways, things are not that big I know… parts of life. Success is not only for a team. The glory must be circulated among others too. But I am rendering a song from last night… A song by “Poets of the fall”. I love this song.. the lyric is more sweeeet to me.

I love this song.. I am listening to it… actually I wished to publish this lyric in my blog for many days. Now taking the privilege on this occasion ๐Ÿ™‚ I can feel that this song was used in the game “Max Payne”– one of the most popular computer game of a time….

Here goes the lyric of “Late Goodbye”:

In our headlights, staring, bleak, beer cans, deer’s eyes
on the asphalt underneath, our crushed plans and my lies
lonely street signs, power lines, they keep on flashing, flashing by

and we keep driving into the night
it’s a late goodbye, such a late goodbye
and we keep driving into the night
it’s a late goodbye

your breath hot upon my cheek, and we crossed, that line
you made me strong when I was feeling weak, and we crossed, that one time
screaming stop signs, staring wild eyes, keep on flashing, flashing by

and we keep driving into the night
it’s a late goodbye, such a late goodbye
and we keep driving into the night
it’s a late goodbye

the devil grins from ear to ear when he sees the hand he’s dealt us
points at your flaming hair, and then we’re playing hide and seek
I can’t breathe easy here, less our trail’s gone cold behind us
till’ in the john mirror you stare at yourself grown old and weak

and we keep driving into the night
it’s a late goodbye, such a late goodbye…


(This is the song of Poets of the fall, based by the poem of Sam Lake)

Author: mahmud faisal

Yet another ephemeral human being...

8 thoughts on “Late Goodbye”

Leave a Reply

