The World Is Too Much With Us


W
e have just celebrated the “Inter Hall Cultural Festival 2009” in our university. It was a colorful, joyous, exciting event which is ever-loving to me, to all students of Khulna University of Engineering and Technology (KUET). The auditorium was full of performances during those 3 days. Different types of events… colors and lights everywhere 😀

I took part in the English Poetry Recitation Competition. The poem was “The world is too much with us” by William Wordsworth. A sweet poem, lots of realization and lessons inside. I competed along with 20 others competitors in the competitions.

I was in tension regarding result. This is the only competition where I had always placed first in my life—starting from my school up to the college.  Reaching to the very last days of my university life, I have again taken part in such a competition. At the last day of the cultural festival, the result was announced in the university auditorium… I was sitting behind all the audiences and waited for the result. And when the turn came, I heard that—“the first of English Poetry Recitation is ………. “

I couldn’t believe my ears! I wished to be confirmed that I had really heard my name…. a younger brother of my junior batch asked me to go to the stage for the photo session. 😛


I thanked God for his blessings for making me unbeaten in poetry recitation through-out my life. This might be very simple achievement for anyone, but I know how it worked to me. I am glad as I started to forget the taste of being best…… I am regaining the trust on me….

I wish to share the poem with you. I am happy today 🙂

The World Is Too Much With Us

The world is too much with us; late and soon,
Getting and spending, we lay waste our powers;
Little we see in Nature that is ours;
We have given our hearts away, a sordid boon!
This Sea that bares her bosom to the moon,
The winds that will be howling at all hours,
And are up-gathered now like sleeping flowers,
For this, for everything, we are out of tune;
It moves us not.–Great God! I’d rather be
A Pagan suckled in a creed outworn;
So might I, standing on this pleasant lea,
Have glimpses that would make me less forlorn;
Have sight of Proteus rising from the sea;
Or hear old Triton blow his wreathed horn.

by- William Wordsworth

Author: mahmud faisal

Yet another ephemeral human being...

25 thoughts on “The World Is Too Much With Us”

    1. Thank you Reema Apu 🙂
      I haven’t video 😦 there were university camera in the auditorium. I would collect it, but it might take time…. I would update it if any video is found 😦

  1. Hey Congrats 🙂 Thatz indeed a super-duper achievement and that u hv remembered to thank God for his blessings makes it all the more wonderful 🙂

    God bless u and may u be unbeaten in poetry recitation for years to come 🙂

    1. Thank you swaram.. saying those sweet words .. you have made my feelings more deep… to the deeper……
      I always thank God… for each thing I achieve in my life.. for each moment is good, for not being worse to worst that moment. we have no control on the happenings on life… isn’t?

      Thanks again 🙂

  2. That’s a wonderful poem.
    Congratulations Mahmud. I can imagine what a wonderful moment it must have been to be declared as the best in the competition.

    Enjoy!!

    Thank you for visiting my blog. Hope to stay in touch.

    Cheers!!

    1. My pleasure to see you in my blog 😀
      Hope to stay in touch
      hmm… I like this hopes 😉 Of course you will….

      And really it’s great amusement while you are declared as the best in the competition… and while you have competed with so many competitors…. 😀

      Welcome to my blog 🙂

    1. hmm IHM… I would try to share them as soon as possible. I am trying to collect … during the competition I had no way to think about the video or photograph since I personally don’t have the camera 😦

      Thank you for visit 🙂

Leave a Reply

