A Poem of Robert Frost


I could remember one thing, since my childhood, I am fascinated to poems. I had teachers in Cadet College who were the source of inspiration of my attraction and fascination to the English literature.

I can remember of my school days — whenever I went to library, I liked to find out the books like “American literature, Western literature” and passed hours in reading Robert Frost, William Blake, William Wordsworth, Robert Browning, TS Eliot…. and many others. The interesting part was, I used to pass times more in turning on the pages than reading. 40 minutes were so short to dive into the ocean of literature…

And miles to go before I sleep….

I can clearly recollect that I was spellbound with the books while excitements were inside heart… and I loved them. I loved the rhythm in a poem, in a dramatic dialogue….

I could remember an English Literature class, while my sir was telling about a line– “And miles to go before I sleep“, while he was telling how much work we have to do on earth…

I found the whole poetry in internet. Here is the site poem hunter dot com. And here you can get many poems of Robert frost, in a pdf click here.

I am going to share a poem now:



Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening


Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village, though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark, and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

(Composed by Robert Frost)

Photo courtesy: Google

25 thoughts on “A Poem of Robert Frost

  1. one of my most fovurite poems..thnx to make me remind dat we hv miles to go before we sleep..dats my spirit of life.. :)

  2. “The woods are lovely, dark, and deep,
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep.”

    These lines are written on a big chart paper and pasted on my wall..I don’t know how much i love these words,and to what extent have they kept me going..

    Ah,miles and miles to go..

    Thanks for the post,made me recall those days when i was lured by the dark woods..

    • Nimmy…. so sweet to hear all those!
      these words really empowers me to keep going…

      Ah,miles and miles to go..

      and I am finding you in my blog after many many days! :D :D once I thought you will never come to my blog! ……

  3. Yes this poem is beautiful. But Robert Frost won my heart further in his gorgeous piece where he discusses the existence and descending of “Man” on Earth as a pure trial.

    If you feel like it, please do read “Trial by Existence”. Its one of the most profound pieces that I’ve read in metaphysical poetry. I was surprised how much thought a simple poem could generate. :)

Leave a Reply

